Institute for Bioethics & Health Humanities committed to moral inquiry, research, teaching, and professional service in healthcare


Learn More


In April of 1970, both The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Science at Houston and The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston sponsored the symposium "Humanism in Medicine" that would help shape and give impetus to the new institute that would emerge at UTMB in 1973. This new institute would be dedicated to medicine and the humanities.

Upcoming 2023 Seminars


2024 Bioethics Bowl Winner

Jan 17, 2024, 15:42 PM by IBHH

Dear Osler Student Societies:

We are happy to announce that the Andreas Vesalius Team is the winner of the 14th Annual Bioethics Bowl. Please congratulate team members: Marianne Garcia, Caroline Hergenrether and Aylia Rizvi. An engraved winner’s plaque will hang in the Latch Key room in their honor. In addition, as the winners, they will receive dinner at a local restaurant. The Elizabeth Blackwell team of Zahir Amin, Erica Beardsley, Sophia Choi, Mansi Diwanji, Shalini Ramachandran and Luke Smith were outstanding opponents in the debate. Our appreciation goes to all who participated in the competition and hopefully, this will stimulate participation again next year. Also, thanks to our judges: Drs. Jeff Farroni, Jong Lee, Bryanna Moore, Jacob Moses and MD-PhD Student Grayson Jackson. We also would like to express our gratitude to Dr. Farroni, guest speaker at the finale, for giving such a lively, interactive talk.


Michael H. Malloy, MD, MS
Professor, Division of Neonatology/Department of Pediatrics
Emeritus John P. McGovern Chair in Oslerian Education